LeadingAge Award

LeadingAge Awards Categories and Criteria

Award of Honor
The Award of Honor is the highest award LeadingAge bestows. It is presented to an individual who, through his or her body of work to the present day, has provided nationally significant, transformative leadership in aging services. The person selected for this award is a visionary leader and builder – someone who, quite apart from personal achievements, has made exceptional contributions to the field and raised the capacity of other individuals and organizations to advance the common good.
  • Individuals whose mission-focused organizations are LeadingAge members are eligible for this award.
  • Nominee’s leadership has been visionary and transformative while empowering constituencies and unifying people and organizations around a common purpose.
  • Nominee has made significant contributions to the mission-focused and philanthropic community and our field broadly, achieving impressive goals over a substantial period of time up to and including the present day.
  • Nominee’s own organization(s) have been transformed by his or her leadership, with positive results that have attracted wider recognition and imitation.
  • Nominee’s cumulative, ongoing achievements and positive influence on the aging services field are exemplary and merit national recognition.

RWJF Award for Health Equity presented by LeadingAge
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) and LeadingAge seek to recognize an individual or a team of two individuals who have successfully implemented efforts to help advance health equity for populations of vulnerable older adults. These vulnerable older adults might include older people living in poverty, older people of color, and/or older people who do not speak English as their first language, have low health literacy, or are socially isolated, among others.

Nominees should demonstrate that they have sought ways to increase access to services, supports, and opportunities that enable these or other vulnerable elders to lead healthy lives.

The award comes with a $3,000 prize (shared equally if winner is a two-person team), registration and travel for the LeadingAge 2021 Annual Meeting, and attend a recognition event hosted either at RWJF headquarters in Princeton, NJ, or virtually, depending on public health guidance.

Individuals or teams of two individuals, whose organizations are LeadingAge members, are eligible for this award. In addition, the successful nominees’ work will:
  • Show alignment with Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's vision for building a Culture of Health and achieving health equity.
  • Demonstrate success in changing systems that impact health outcomes in one or more of the following areas: access to quality care, education, employment, income, community environment, housing, and public safety.
  • Provide a solution to improve outcomes for groups most affected by health disparities.
  • Reflect the nominee’s successful implementation of a systems-change approach to reducing health disparities within the past two years.

For more information about the award, please read:

Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Nursing
This award recognizes a Director of Nursing or Assistant Director of Nursing who creates a supportive and engaged workplace environment by displaying excellent leadership skills while managing nursing and frontline staff. The award winner will receive a $1,000 prize, to be used for professional development.
  • Nominee demonstrates creative and innovative approaches to leadership in LTSS nursing.
  • Nominee values and respects all levels of professional caregivers, and models and promotes this attitude among peers.
  • Nominee facilitates meaningful collaboration among interdisciplinary team members.
  • Nominee has created or implemented practices at the organization to improve the workplace environment and support nursing and frontline staff in areas such as staff empowerment, job orientation, training and career development, information sharing, and effective supervision and management support.
  • Nominee has been instrumental in improving the recruitment and retention of the nursing and frontline staff.
  • Nominee assists caregivers in understanding their relationship to the organization’s mission and goals.